On the Other Side of the World

It’s been ten months since my last confession, but I have been a bit of a busy bee. I’m 8700 miles from home. You can’t run away from sadness but I thought perhaps I could fly.

Vietnam is now home and has been since November. I’ve returned to the teaching English game.

Life is good, and I think of M less. I saw her before I left. We talked, a long talk, hours and hours covering years and years. When we said goodbye it was final. We cried in a fairly dismal, mundane setting, on a road by a river. We kissed and we parted. 8 years ended with the touch of two lips.

I haven’t kissed any other lips since. I’m still all too aware how lips can so easily lie. Friends and food and drink keep the loneliness confined to darker corners of my mind.

M now lives in the shadows of my life, but this is good. The long shadows remind me that to my life has returned some Sun.

Image

Is this not the true romantic feeling; not to desire to escape life, but to prevent life from escaping you.
Thomas Wolfe

 

Posted on April 3, 2012, in Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is ever so sad, yet beautifully written feelings. And despite sadness, it’s nice to know that there is sun not all shadow. Goodbyes are very difficult, every human seems to have on some level an inability to accept loss, but I don’t think that’s a flaw in humans

Leave a Reply

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Wild Solipsist

Professionally Homeless Floorsurfing Minimalist

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

joyceh93

Gender and Popular Media Blog

The Barbaric Yawp

Musings and ramblings on somethings and whimsies

Izzy In a Tizzy

Why is izzy in a tizzy? Well, read on to find out!

WRATH OF THE BITCH QUEEN

Musings on video games, books, comics, and more.

