Life is a 2-Player Game

“How old are you?” one of my 14 year old students asked. 33, I replied. “And do you have a wife?”. I said no. She asked why.

I haven’t found her yet, I said, smiling. Her expression didn’t change but she said with some conviction “And you never, ever will…”

Kids. Bless them.

And I’m hung over but this is fine as, in one of the few examples where I am right and the world is wrong, I don’t work mondays.

It’s also fine because I have my own little hang over routine. It involves ice coffee and water and cigarettes and music and the merest splash of red wine. And I know when I’m feeling better because that’s when I start to dance.

Nothing you’d confuse with anything professional of course. Much more of a distant cousin 4 times removed from dancing. Swaying’s nephew, perhaps.

And I know I look silly but it makes me smile.

Today, I haven’t danced yet. And I don’t know that I will. Because I’ve been sharing hangovers with G, but G’s not here now. The ice coffee and water and  cigarettes and music and overflowing red wine and dancing we’ve shared together.

And I know I looked silly but it made her smile.

“Without music life would be a mistake”

~Friedrich Nietzsche~

Posted on November 26, 2012, in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Pretty Bored

by Melissa Stetten

Wild Solipsist

Professionally Homeless Floorsurfing Minimalist

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

the Middle of Healing and the Beginning of a New Marriage

joyceh93

Gender and Popular Media Blog

The Barbaric Yawp

Musings and ramblings on somethings and whimsies

Izzy In a Tizzy

Why is izzy in a tizzy? Well, read on to find out!

WRATH OF THE BITCH QUEEN

Musings on video games, books, comics, and more.

